Aging in Place Villages 2026: Find One Near You by State

Last updated:

Housing & Rent

Aging in place "Villages" — local nonprofit membership groups found through the Village Map of Village to Village Network (VtVN), a national 501(c)(3) nonprofit network; not a government program · Nationwide · 2026

Apply on the official site →

If you want to keep living in your own home as you get older, but you could use a ride to the doctor, help with a light bulb, or someone to show you a new phone, a village may help. Villages are local nonprofit groups of neighbors. You pay yearly dues, and in return you can ask for help from volunteers and join social activities.

This guide shows where villages are, state by state (from our count of the national map), what they cost, and what to ask before you join.

Three older adults sit on a gray sofa drinking tea and talking, with cookies and a pie on the coffee table

Note: villages are not a government program. Each village is its own local nonprofit (a few are run by cities). The national map comes from Village to Village Network (VtVN), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit network based in St. Louis. VtVN does not provide help to individuals — it supports the villages. Facts below are from VtVN’s own pages and six villages’ own websites, read on October 20, 2026.

The Short Answer

QuestionAnswer
What is it?A local nonprofit membership group that helps older adults stay in their homes
What help?Mostly volunteer help: rides, errands, light home tasks, tech help, social and learning events
Who can join?Older adults who live in the village’s service area (many say 60 or older — rules vary)
CostYearly dues set by each village — $30 to $925 a year for one person at the six villages we checked
Low income?Some villages have income-based dues or scholarships
How many?270 U.S. listings with a state on the national map (250 open, 20 in development), in 37 states and DC
Where to lookThe Village Map on VtVN’s website

What a Village Does — and Doesn’t Do

VtVN’s Village Model page says villages “are community-based, nonprofit, grassroots organizations.” They offer “volunteer assistance with transportation, light home maintenance, and technology coaching,” along with social, educational, health and wellness programs. Villages “are run by volunteers and may have paid staff,” and many keep a list of vetted service providers — plumbers, electricians, painters — that members can hire.

What villages usually don’t do matters just as much. Ashland At Home in Oregon spells it out on its membership page: “Our volunteers do not handle any Activities of Daily Living. We are also not set up to provide 24/7 emergency response to service requests.” It also says volunteers don’t do regular housekeeping or yard work. In plain words: a village is a helpful neighbor, not home health care, a caregiver, or a medical alert service.

If you need hands-on personal care, look at government options like Medicaid home care or PACE. If you need rides only, see our guide to rides to doctor appointments for seniors.

Is There a Village in Your State? Our Count

We read every listing on VtVN’s Village Map on October 20, 2026. A search with no filters returned 272 listings. One was in Canada and one had no city or state, which leaves 270 U.S. listings: 250 marked Open and 20 marked In Development (not serving members yet).

StateListingsOpenIn development
Alabama330
Alaska110
California32311
Colorado110
Connecticut550
Delaware330
District of Columbia12111
Florida761
Georgia202
Hawaii321
Illinois660
Iowa110
Kentucky330
Louisiana110
Maine110
Maryland25232
Massachusetts26242
Minnesota220
Missouri110
Montana110
New Hampshire431
New Jersey220
New Mexico431
New York16160
North Carolina761
Ohio880
Oklahoma110
Oregon16142
Pennsylvania11101
Rhode Island14140
South Carolina770
Tennessee110
Texas440
Vermont541
Virginia18153
Washington12120
West Virginia110
Wisconsin330

No listings at all in 13 states: Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. Note that Georgia’s two listings are both still in development.

Most villages cluster in a few places: California (32), Massachusetts (26), Maryland (25), Virginia (18), New York (16) and Oregon (16) hold more than half of all U.S. listings.

Read the map with care

  • It shows network members only. Every listing says “Network Member? Yes,” and the map’s legend has only two pin types — “Member / Open” and “Member / In Development.” VtVN’s FAQ says member villages control their own listing, and “If you click NO, you will not show up on our Village map.” So a village near you could exist and not be on the map. If your state shows zero, it is still worth asking your Area Agency on Aging.
  • Not every listing is a village. The FAQ says “Local or state government agencies” can join the network, and some listings are city governments — the City of Fairfax (Virginia), the City of Rockville (Maryland) and the City of Coppell (Texas). One Maryland listing is the national network itself.
  • Some listings repeat. The name “Marin Villages” appears seven times, and a few others appear twice. Our state counts include every listing as shown.
  • Contact details can be missing or old. 58 of the 272 listings had no website, 14 had no phone number, and 10 had neither. When we tried the listed websites on October 20, two web addresses no longer existed. If a link fails, try the phone number or search for the village by name.

An older man in a pink shirt works on a laptop while a younger volunteer leans in to help, in a bright computer room

What Villages Cost: Six Real Examples

VtVN does not set dues — each village does. Here is what six villages posted on their own websites on October 20, 2026. These are examples, not national prices.

Village (state)One person, per yearHouseholdLower-cost option posted
Aging in Place Glens Falls (NY)$30$45 (“for a family”)Not stated
Ashland At Home (OR)$300 (or $25 a month)Not statedNot stated
The Athens Village (OH)$450$800Not stated
Arlington Neighborhood Village (VA)$500$250 for each added household member$25–$100 a year for individuals with income up to $64,980
At Home in Greenwich (CT)$500$650”Financial assistance is available” (scholarship program)
Capitol Hill Village (DC)$405 regular; $625 “Membership Plus”; $925 “Urgent”$810 / $1,250 / $1,850Subsidized rates “starting at just $12/month” for individuals earning up to $57,400 (households up to $65,600)

Two things stand out:

  1. Income-based dues exist, but you may have to ask. Capitol Hill Village says “No One Is Turned Away Because of Cost.” Arlington and Greenwich also post discounts or aid. Three of the six didn’t mention any — that doesn’t mean they say no.
  2. There may be a waiting period. Capitol Hill Village’s most expensive level is sold as “Immediate Access — No Waiting Period,” which tells you its regular members wait before using services. Ask any village how long it takes after you join before you can request a ride or a volunteer.

Residency and age rules vary, too. The Athens Village is “open to all who are 60 years of age or over and live in Athens County.” At Home in Greenwich is “open to any Greenwich resident, age 60 or older.” Ashland At Home serves only the Ashland and Talent area.

Checklist: Questions to Ask Before You Join

Call or email the village and ask:

  • Do I live in your service area? Most villages serve one town, county or neighborhood.
  • Is there an age rule? Many say 60 or older; some don’t set one.
  • What are the dues, and can I pay monthly?
  • Do you have income-based dues, a scholarship, or a sliding scale? Ask what proof of income you’d need.
  • Is there a waiting period after I join before I can request help?
  • Which services are free with membership, and which cost extra? (For example, Capitol Hill Village lists care services at $136 an hour for regular members.)
  • How far ahead do I need to request a ride, and where will volunteers drive (some only drive within town)?
  • What don’t you do? Ask about personal care, housekeeping and emergencies.
  • Are volunteers background-checked?
  • Is the village open now, or still “In Development”?

Three older adults smile at a wooden table in a park on a sunny autumn day

How to Join

  1. Search the map. Open the Village Map, choose “United States of America,” then your state or city. VtVN’s FAQ reminds you to pick the country first.
  2. Open the village’s own website or call it. VtVN says, “visit that Village’s website for signup details.” VtVN itself does not sign up individuals.
  3. Ask the checklist questions above, especially about dues help and waiting periods.
  4. Fill out the village’s application and pay dues (or apply for reduced dues).

If no village is listed near you, VtVN’s main phone line is 617-299-9638 (email vtv@vtvnetwork.org) — but it is a network office, not a help line.

If There Is No Village Near You

How We Checked This

What we opened and read ourselves, on October 20, 2026: Village to Village Network’s home page, Village Model, “About Us” and “VtV Network” pages, its FAQ (all three categories), and the Village Map — both the map data and the full search-result list (“272 Village(s) found”), every listing. We also read the membership pages of six villages: Capitol Hill Village, Arlington Neighborhood Village, At Home in Greenwich, The Athens Village, Ashland At Home and Aging in Place Glens Falls. We confirmed VtVN’s 501(c)(3) status in ProPublica’s Nonprofit Explorer (IRS data, EIN 27-1063665).

The state table is our own count. We grouped all 272 listings by the state shown in each listing’s location and by its Open or In Development status. We then tried every listed website once on October 20; many sites block automated checks, so we only report addresses whose domain no longer exists.

Things we found that you won’t see on the network’s pages:

  1. The map only shows paying network members. Every one of the 272 listings is marked as a network member, and the FAQ says villages that answer “NO” will “not show up.” A missing state doesn’t prove there’s no village there.
  2. Some “villages” are city halls. The City of Fairfax, the City of Rockville and the City of Coppell are listed alongside nonprofit villages — and one listing is the national network itself.
  3. Dues vary 30-fold. From $30 a year in Glens Falls, New York, to $925 for Capitol Hill Village’s top level — and at least three of the six villages post income-based discounts or aid.
  4. Waiting periods are real. Capitol Hill Village charges more for “Immediate Access — No Waiting Period.”
  5. The network’s name differs between its website and IRS data. The website says “Village to Village Network, Inc.”; ProPublica’s IRS record for the same EIN says “Village To Village Network Llc,” still listed as a 501(c)(3). Its total revenue for tax year 2023 was $411,310 — a small national office, which is why it points you to local villages instead of helping you directly.

What we could not verify. We could not open many villages that use the “helpfulvillage.com” platform (for example, Beacon Hill Village in Boston, the first village) — those pages blocked us. We did not call any village, so we can’t confirm waiting lists, current openings or how strictly income rules are checked. Dues above are from six villages only and can change. The map only lists network members, so villages that are not members are not in our count.

Villages are local nonprofit organizations (a few are run by city governments); Village to Village Network is a nonprofit network, not a government agency. Rules, dues and service areas are set by each village and vary by state and town. Figures are for 2026 as posted on October 20, 2026.

Last updated: October 20, 2026

This is general information, not legal or financial advice.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an aging in place village?

A village is a local nonprofit membership group that helps older adults keep living in their own homes. Village to Village Network, the national network, says villages offer "volunteer assistance with transportation, light home maintenance, and technology coaching," plus social and educational programs. Members pay yearly dues. A village is not a retirement community — you stay in your own house or apartment.

How do I find a village near me?

Use the Village Map on Village to Village Network's website and search by state or city, then visit that village's own website or call it to sign up. On October 20, 2026, the map listed 270 U.S. villages with a state — 250 open and 20 still in development — in 37 states and DC. It only shows villages that belong to the network, so a local village that is not a member may not be on it.

How much does it cost to join a village?

Each village sets its own dues. On the six village websites we read on October 20, 2026, a one-person yearly membership ranged from $30 (Glens Falls, New York) to $405–$925 (Capitol Hill Village in Washington, DC, depending on the level). Several offer lower dues based on income — for example, Capitol Hill Village lists subsidized rates starting at $12 a month.

Can I join a village if I have a low income?

Often, yes. Some villages publish an income-based rate: Arlington Neighborhood Village charges $25 to $100 a year for individuals with income up to $64,980, and Capitol Hill Village offers subsidized rates to individuals earning up to $57,400. At Home in Greenwich says "Financial assistance is available." Others don't post a policy, so ask before you rule one out.

Are villages a government program?

No. Villages are local nonprofits, and Village to Village Network is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit network. A few listings on the map are city governments, which are allowed to join the network. For government help at home — like meals, rides and in-home services — contact your Area Agency on Aging through the Eldercare Locator.

Do villages provide home health care or personal care?

Usually not. Villages rely mostly on volunteers for things a good neighbor would do. Ashland At Home in Oregon, for example, says its volunteers "do not handle any Activities of Daily Living" and that it is not set up for 24/7 emergency response. Some villages sell paid care services separately — Capitol Hill Village lists care services at $136 an hour for regular members.

Sources

Keep reading

This is general information, not legal or financial advice.